Gujarat municipal corporation election result 2021: Amid tight security and adherence to COVID-19 norms, Elections to six municipal corporations in Gujarat were conducted in a peaceful manner on Sunday, in which an average voter turnout of around 42 percent was recorded.  Polling for a total of 144 wards across six civic bodies – Ahmedabad, Surat, Rajkot, Vadodara, Bhavnagar and Jamnagar- was held.

As per State EC, A total of 2,276 candidates were in the fray in these six civic bodies. The party-wise candidates were as follows: 577 from the BJP, 566 from the Congress, 470 from the AAP, 91 from the NCP, 353 from other parties, and 228 Independents.

As per the state election commission, there are a total of 1.14 crore voters, including 60.60 lakh men and 54.06 lakh women. Of the 11,121 polling booths, 2,255 are marked sensitive and 1,188 have been designated as very sensitive

This year, the BJP has won uncontested in Naranpura ward of Ahmedabad after the Congress withdrew its candidate.

What is at stake in these elections?

While the BJP has an upper hand in elections to urban local bodies, this time, several senior and multiple-term corporators were denied tickets, leading to disquiet in the party. The denial of tickets was on account of conditions set by the BJP parliamentary board disqualifying three categories of contestants: those over the age of 60, members of the families of party functionaries, and those who have completed three terms.

Gujrat Local Body Election polls 2021 live Updates:


5:00 PM:

Surat MuniCipal CorpoRation

Final Result

Total Seats 120/120

BJP: 93

INC: 0

OTH: 27

Ahmedabad MuniCipal CorpoRation


Total Seats 192 /192

BJP: 160

INC: 24

MIM: 7

OTH: 01

Vadodara MuniCipal CorpoRation

5:00 PM:

Final Result

Total Seats 76/76

BJP: 69

INC: 7

OTH: 0

Gujrat Local Body Election Total Tally

4:49 PM:

Total Seats – 576/576

BJP: 484

INC: 54

AAP: 27

MIM: 7

BSP: 3

OTH: 1

4:48 PM:

Final Result of Jamnagar | Out of the 64 seats in Jamnagar, BJP won 50, Congress has won 11 and BSP has won 3.

Final Result of Bhavnagar | Out of the 52 seats in Bhavnagar, BJP has won 44 and Congress has won 8.

Final Result of Rajkot | Out of the 72 seats in Rajkot, BJP won 68, Congress has won 4.

Final Result of Surat | Out of the 120 seats in Surat Muncipal Corp, BJP won 93, Congress has won 0 and AAP has won 27.

Final Result of Vadodara | Out of the 76 seats in VMC, BJP won 69, Congress has won 7 and Others has won 0.

5:50 PM:

 Opening its electoral account in Gujarat, Lok Sabha MP Asaduddin Owaisi’s AIMIM bagged four seats in the Ahmedabad municipal elections. The AIMIM won seats in Ahmedabad’s Jamalpur.

JUST IN: Ashok Dangar, president of Rajkot city unit of Congress loses election from Ward No.17 of Rajkot Municipal Corporation.

Vadodara City Congress President Prashant Patel resigned following poor show in the Municipal Election. Here, the BJP has won 69 of 76 wards while the Congress could secure just 7.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *